St. Paul’s history dates back to the days of the Loyalist settlers who came to what is now Kings County from the United States in 1783. The Parish of Hampton served a large area which originally included Rothesay, Gondola Point, Darlings Island, Norton, Upham, French Village, Smithstown, Hampton Station and the Village of Hampton. When the subscription list for St. Paul’s Church was created, it was stated that the church “be erected in the neighbourhood of Mr. John DeMille’s; provided that the inhabitants of the Parish of Norton and also those of Kingston whom it will accommodate are willing to unite with us….” From this we can understand why the Church was located on its present site at Lakeside. It was not only for Hampton, but also to accommodate Lower Norton and the upper corner of Kingston. Access by water was a prime necessity in those days when roads were few and of poor condition, and so this site provided ready water access for the new settlers in an untamed land.
The original Loyalist church on this site was built in 1811 and consecrated in 1826 by the Right Reverend John Inglis, Third Bishop of Nova Scotia. The land was donated by two Loyalist families, the DeMilles and the Crawfords. As the church family grew, the original church was taken down and the present church built in 1870. The Lych Gate at the entrance to the church yard is one of the few left in the Maritimes. It is a reproduction of the original. In addition to the gate, there still exists a Right of Way, granted in 1812, leading from the lake through to the churchyard. The Right of Way Gate, situated on the West boundary line of the churchyard fence, was used by those parishioners who came to church by boat in summer, or over the ice in winter.
In the church yard there are many headstones in the memory of early parishioners dating back to the early 1800s. The mortal remains of Canon William W. Walker, the second Rector of the Parish who was in office for 53 years, can be found outside the Chancel window. His years as Rector saw many developments in the spiritual life of the Parish.
Inside the church, the history of the parish is captured through many fine stained glass windows. The earliest of these are those that form the East Window which were installed in 1876. A small stained glass window on the north side of the chancel was given by the Right Reverend John Medley, the first Bishop of New Brunswick. Other stained glass memorial windows have been placed over the years.
In the Sanctuary area is a beautiful hand made carpet in the exact design of an original in grain carpet. It represents three years of a labour of love by Miss Marguerite Davis and Miss Marion Walker.
The church tower and spire houses a single bell which on occasions is still rung calling parishioners to worship.
Visit St. Paul’s Anglican Church website at: www.stpaulsanglicanhampton.org